1 February 2023
  • 3:06 am Senate calls for implementation of NAP to curb terrorism
  • 3:04 am KP elections: ECP summons ‘important meeting’ today
  • 2:37 am MQM-P holds meeting to review by-elections preparations
  • 2:37 am MQM-P holds meeting to review by-elections preparations
  • 1:55 am Punjab police foil terror attack on Mianwali police station
Choose Language
 Edit Translation
Spread the News

Senior spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been named in India’s spin-heavy 15-member World Cup squad that also includes Varun Chakravarthy who only made his international T20 debut this year.

Ashwin, a 34-year-old off-spinner, returns to the limited-overs fold after four years since playing a T20 for the national side in July 2017.

Chief selector Chetan Sharma called Varun’s inclusion a “surprise package” for the opposition teams.

Opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan remains one of the notable omissions from the squad after he recently led India on a limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka.

India’s squad announcement for T20 World Cup as it happened: Ashwin returns, Dhoni named mentor

India squad

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Sharma said Dhawan has been rested and “will be back soon”.

Seen as the go-to wrist spinners not long ago, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have also been left out with the selectors opting for Varun and legspinner Rahul Chahar instead.

Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel come in as all-rounders while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah lead the pace pack.

Indian Premier League stars Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan…

Read more

Abdul Gh Lone