11 December 2023
  • 12:17 am Intense political rhetoric testament to in-time elections: Murtaza Solangi
  • 12:17 am CM Punjab launches cleanliness drive in Lahore to combat smog
  • 12:06 am WHO urges immediate humanitarian aid for Gaza
  • 12:06 am Nine electrocuted in accident at Brazil squatter camp
  • 11:47 pm Four policemen injured in Dadu attack
Choose Language
 Edit Translation
Spread the News

Author Kamila Shamsie has been appointed a vice-president of the Royal Society of Literature along with eight other people.

The other authors are Simon Armitage, Mary Beard, Bernardine
Evari, Grace Nichols, Jackie Kay, Blake Morrison, Elif Safak and Colm Toibin.

Shamsie and the others have lifetime voting rights to elect new Fellows.

Today we announce nine new Vice-Presidents of the RSL: Simon Armitage, @wmarybeard, @BernardineEvari, Grace Nichols, @JackieKayPoet, Blake Morrison, @Elif_Safak , @kamilashamsie and Colm Tóibín. All have lifetime voting rights in electing new Fellows. #RSL200 #RSLVP pic.twitter.com/ofIViesb7j— Royal Society of Literature (@RSLiterature) November 30, 2020

The Royal Society of Literature is a UK charity for the
advancement of literature. It was founded in 1820.

According to its website, the Society gives awards, organises prizes, invites writers to speak from all over the world, and organises public discussions. Its Fellows also visit libraries, schools, universities, and participate in other public forums, including festivals, broadcasting and social media.

is a Pakistani writer based in the UK. Born in the early 1970s, she has many
accolades to her credit, including the 1999 Prime Minister’s Award for
Literature and the Muslim Writers Award in 2009.

In 2019, she was shortlisted for the 2019 International Dublin Literary Award.

Abdul Gh Lone