27 September 2023
  • 10:06 pm Digital transactions sustained growth during FY22-23: SBP
  • 9:40 pm PPP forms legal team to challenge new delimitations
  • 9:38 pm Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya Launches News18’s ‘Sanjeevani-United Against Cancer’
  • 9:37 pm Fire breaks out at PG accommodation in Delhi’s Mukherjee Nagar: Cops
  • 9:36 pm Studying genes could hold some answers to Alzheimer’s disease
Choose Language
 Edit Translation
Spread the News
Polling for by-election in the National Assembly constituency NA-245 Karachi is currently underway.

The polling process will continue till 5 pm without any break.

A total of 263 polling stations have been set up by the election commission for the by-election, of which 60 polling stations have been declared sensitive and 203 most sensitive.

Seventeen candidates are contesting the by-poll including candidates of MQM-Pakistan, Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP).

Read More: MQM faces tough challenge in NA-245

The seat had fallen vacant due to the death of PTI MNA, Dr Aamir Liaquat Hussain.

The ECP had appointed Syed Nadeem Haider as the returning officer for NA-245 by-election. In view of the polls, the electoral watchdog had also banned development works and transfers of officials within the limits of the NA-245 constituency.

In the 2018 general election, Aamir Liaquat Hussain, 50, was elected from NA-245 on PTI ticket. The popular television host and politician passed away on June 9 at his residence.

Abdul Gh Lone