9 December 2023
  • 10:07 am Watch: This Mumbai police station has turned into a home for street dogs thanks to a senior officer
  • 10:06 am Pro Kabaddi League: Naveen helps Dabang Delhi beat Bengaluru Bulls; Puneri Paltan thump U Mumba
  • 9:37 am Watch, highlights ISL 2023-24: Mumbai City FC thump Bengaluru FC 4-0 to climb into top four
  • 9:36 am Sharing Parliamentary login details disturbs national security, says panel on Mahua Moitra expulsion
  • 8:39 am ‘No data’ and other tactics: How the government is dodging RTI queries on health pacts with Big Tech
Choose Language
 Edit Translation
Spread the News

Five books have been shortlisted for the sixth edition of the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize. The Prize is for nonfiction writing on the history of Independent India. The winner will be announced on December 1, and the winning author will receive a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh.

This year’s jury is chaired by political scientist Niraja Gopal Jayal, historian Srinath Raghavan, columnist-writer Navtej Sarna, lawyer Rahul Matthan, columnist-writer Yamini Aiyar, and entrepreneur Manish Sabharwal. “The five books illuminate our understanding of how the nation and its citizens have come to be,” said the jury about the 2023 shortlist.

Here are the shortlisted books for this year’s Prize:

Founding Mothers of the Indian Republic: Gender Framing of the Politics of the Constitution, Achyut Chetan

Delhi Reborn: Partition and Nation Building in India’s Capital, Rotem Geva

Writer, Rebel, Soldier, Lover: The Many Lives of Agyeya, Akshaya Mukul

Land, Guns, Caste, Woman: The Memoir of a Lapsed Revolutionary, Gita Ramaswamy

Nehru’s India: A History in Seven Myths, Taylor C Sherman

Read more

Abdul Gh Lone